Why the bow sway is unrealistic

I would like to point out first, that the devs are doing a great job and the alpha is amazing. I know our opinions matter to you and I am just pointing out something that you could maybe change. This bow sway, which everyone seems to think is realistic, is not. Anyone who has spent any time shooting knows this. When you shoot a bow, you draw to anchor (the edge of your mouth) and lock your bow arm at the elbow by rolling your elbow inwards, thus locking your bow arm in place to prevent this very problem. Just figured i could point out WHY is unrealistic, i know there are other threads about it, and i dont think it would be that difficult to change that, but i am not a programmer so i have about as much idea about it as a newborn child. Its something i think would take getting used to and if you find the time to fix it that would make, at least me, happy.

2 Likes

possibly modeled as a skill. he may lack the strength and technique to steady it.

1 Like

perhaps, as long as there is a way to get rid of it fairly soon into the gameplay,like you win the contest and then the archer teaches you the technique to steady your arm or something. I dont know, it would bother me more if i knew it wouldn’t at least be dumbed down.

1 Like

I think you talk about the technique in combination with animation…
But you shoot with self-made-bow too?
I mean like from 13 century or little bit later.
I think it is different to the sport-bows or similiar

Dan talked about it during the yesterday stream. First of all they want to make accurate shooting a bow ingame rather hard because the bow would be overpowered otherwise. But he admits it’s hard to actually hit something now. Secondly the movement of the drawed bow is determined by levelling the skills.

1 Like