Are bows even useful? And if so how?

Hello Y’all.

I’m pretty new to this game but I’m having a lot of trouble making bows worth a shit. They are pretty impossible to actually aim; the trajectory and speed of the arrow seemingly changing drastically at all moments during pulling the arrow back. And the heavy sway makes the aiming that much more difficult.

And even if I do hit my target, if it’s a person, it seems to pretty much just stun them and give me a slight head start on their health. Which is not that worth it considering I generally kill entire camps via Batman-Arkham-Asylum-ing them to death with timed blocks and parties.

It seems only useful when hunting. But even then, hitting anything that isn’t completely still, stuck on a branch, or moving laterally at a snail’s pace generally dodges all my arrows. And so if I go out with 100 arrows, I might get like 8-10 hares and 2 deer/roe along with maybe a level in Hunting. Doesn’t seem worth it tbh.

Do I just suck? Some of you seem like you got pro gamer strats or something but I haven’t made it work. Or are bows just trash?

1 Like

There are many different bows. High level bows with good arrows can kill full-plate-armor-enemys with few shots in there face, while it can take severel minutes to kill a bandit by sword. As with all the other skills it takes time and training to get better in shooting arrows. Imo.: if bowskill is on max. level and you use bow with 74 or higher you are quite overpowered :wink:

If you use strong bow as noob at archery, your shots will be weak, so starting with some hunting one should be handy. Anyone starting with a bow will have same experience, missing a lot of shots because aim sways and requires a lot of stamina before releasing arrow straight to target. In your case, I’d keep hunting hares and level up somewhere above 8 when it’s pretty accurate and you’ll get used to that and only then use is as main weapon during fights. Bow gets pretty devastating once your aim is good.