How detailed is sword fighting?

Hello there! So some time ago, a friend of mine recommended me to check this game out. I’m not gonna lie, I ABSOLUTELY love the concept of this game and it’s enormous emphasis on realism. I plan to buy the game immediately after it comes on Steam, which I am sure it will because of it’s relative popularity and how well made it is.

Now, I am a student of historic European martial arts, specially of German fencing. I became very excited when I saw the trailer because of how well polished and how realistic the combat was but I’d like to know exactly how detailed combat is. Are we able to change into all guards? Are the master cuts present? For example, am I able to break and counter a downwards cut using the Zwerchhau cut? I am very curious about all these little things. After all, I may have a quite unfair advantage when I buy this game! :grin:

Watch a video of the training in the arena. Then watch a video of someone fighting when they’re not in a tiny fenced off box. You can dodge, parry, counter, block, feint. Which, if timed perfectly, is quite effective. Note the key word if. If you mess up the timing you will get stomped.

In real combat, when you’re not in a tiny box, the person that gets the first hit in wins. That’s it. There is no fancy dancing around. There’s no need to. All it does is make the combat take longer, and leave you vulnerable to a counter attack.

Nothing you think you know about HEMA will give you any advantage in this game.

Hello there.
Here you can watch Combat presentation:

I think that given the technical possibilities the combat is as close to real combat as it can get, without sacrifacing controlls over your character.
Which basically means, it wont be perfect but still good.

1 Like