Laptop shuts down (overheat) - tips?

Hey,

I just started playing KCD today and really like it so far. I also like the more realistic saving system, but I have one problem with it: whenever I get into a resource-intensive environment (in the middle of a huge forest etc.) I risk a full shutdown, I assume because of overheat.

My laptop is not the newest of all, but it still has a GTX1050Ti, 16GB RAM, SSD and i7-7700HQ @ 2.8GHz.

The game went almost perfectly fine on a mix of super high and ultra high, but I had to reduce some settings because of overheat.

Any tips on tweaking the game or something to avoid shutdown? Thank you!

well am not an expert i have a low end laptop i play some games on I had the same problem what i basically did when i feel like my laptop is hot i would put it next to the air conditioner for some time so the heat comes down.

Try some monitoring tools to find out what causes the overheating. Cpu? Or systemTemp or gpu?

put some more fans in

High to ultra, lol. You should play it on medium instead. I play it so and I have better system. After few hours my PC makes a noise it’s too much… So I assume you do not want to spend more than 3 hours in one run. Other than that use dry cleaner for shooting dust out of your inside. You can set your system for high performance and of course lower some lightning effects as they are demanding. By the way, how does Rattay run to you. Any missing graphics, invisible heads?

Might be the laptop power pack isnt outputting full capacity, and the power draw with both the processor and video card at full load pushes too far…

I had a scenario like this a few years ago.
The 20watt draw of the screen is some power headroom you can use to check…
Try plugging into a tv or external monitor (turning off the laptop screen)… use game as usual=>see if you can push past previous areas…

If this works some options open up to us; cross that bridge when we get there… :wink: