My Kingdom Come review

tldr: equally a 5-star immersive, open world experience and a mediocre achievement in its self-indulgent endeavor

Disclaimer: I played the game in French.

I started playing the game in mid January and with 107 hours and at level 19, I’ve “completed” the game. I have the Completionist (I must confess however that I failed one or another quest, like the Talmberg horse race, and I didn’t get to go drinking with father Godwin) and the The End achievement; besides spare activities to do (bring meat to the butcher in Sasau, brawl in Rattay, shoot logs in Ledetchko, another I can’t remember) and grinding my way to level 20, I don’t have anything else to do in the game.

The positive side of this game is certainly deserving of praise. The craft found in the world, in the textures, in the lovely art of maps and drawing, the multitude of dialogue is majestic. Going in detail:

The location the game takes place - agrarian and feudal Bohemia - is a joy to travel around. Villages are always cozy and receptive, a castle in the distance always inspires awe, wading through the woods is sincerely a idyllic exercise, riding alongside a river offers a fine outdoors high. Something I particularly enjoyed was noticing a shy dirt track diverging from the path I was in, and wondering where that could lead me. The arcadian setting is made with gusto and makes you want to turn away from the computer and go tracking yourself; if Warhorse was designed to make, say, a Huckleberry Finn game, with its ample Mississipi river and american southern flora, they would make a very fine job at it.