Stature, Strength and Weight of armour

Continuing the discussion from Women warriors of the 13 century:

I was interested in how harness might differentially impact a large and small fighter (I have some experience in Blossfechten that suggests that strength is only marginally useful in sword fighting - though with unbalanced weapons, bows etc there is a benefit to having more size and strength - with a well balanced sword, technique and the appropriate ‘path’ down the decision making process for each attack, step and displacement all but eliminates strength as a factor once the user can handle a weapon (single handed swords are more difficult here, two handed swords offer the smaller fighter a much more level playing field).

Starting with the premise that a 77kg 1.75m person is average in size, and would wear a 27kg set of harness, I have tried to estimate the weight of armour of similar protection and the impact of this harness on my own size - 51kg, 1.65m.

First I used a BSA estimation to get a rough estimate of the surface area - 1.53m^2 for me, 1.93m^2 for the other. This is going at a first approximation going to result in a 21kg set of harness of equal coverage and protectiveness.

I then estimated the strength of the two assuming that strength is roughly mass^2/3 for the comparison between two ‘similar’ people.

This suggests that the effective burden of the harness would be around 4% more for me than for the average person used for the comparison, with a 50% greater body mass.

A larger person (1.85m, 91kg) would have harness weighing ~30kg, and would find the burden to ‘feel’ around 1% less than the average person.

I see some places where this approximation could be improved, but it is (IMO) entirely expected that for custom sized equipment (such as harness and most other (historical) personal armours) there is no real penalty associated with size with broadly similar body types.

1 Like