Newbie, need help with weapon

Hi guys, gonna make this brief; I bought Kingdom Come for Ps4(because I like historical accuracy, and not because it’s hard, cuz I don’t like hard games), been playing the last weekend for some hours, got to rattay, did the mission were you get a horse; currently hunting bandits for ct. Bernard; so I want to build Henry with the following: heaviest armor(plate), combat(either mace and shield or longsword), bow, and speech; currently sword level is 8, mace 0, because I wanted to go with longsword; I’m thinking of switching to mace and shield because I don’t like the idea of slashing plate armor with a sword; now, I don’t have a lot of time, only play in the weekends, I am not good at this type of game, were you have to have good timing, I am terrible at this and my reaction time is very slow; so what is easier to learn and us? mace and shield, or longsword, cuz currently, I suck badly with the longsword, I don’t plan on using a lot of combos, so that is why I was thinking of switching to a mace and shield; however some people say that mace is too slow, and that eventually you can get really good with a longsword through practice, but as I’ve told you, I pretty much suck at timing; also people say that mace and shield will deplete your stamina much quicker; So what do you think is the best weapon for me to use given the fact that I suck so much at timming, and I don’t have a lot of time to practice?; Thank you!

Safest bet in my book is the axe.
I know you didnt suggest them but is has both blunt and slash damage and some have even stab damage.

You fuck up the easy non armor ones and do good damage to plate guys.
I never use combos just make sure you get all the training done with robard.
Keep close eye on your stamina.
Do 2 or 3 attacks then hang back recharge and back at it