Realistic sword combat?

I have some real world experience of fighting with cold steel weaponry ranging from Viking era axes and swords to sabre fencing techniques taught in the early 1800’s i.e not the modern day sports fencing which is ridiculous and has nothing to do with combat. One thing I miss in KCD (don’t know if it will be introduced or not) are melee attacks, kicks, take downs and grapples during sword combat.

During training I have learnt to use the pommel and peen block to inflict damage to opponents but also fists, knees and feet. A useful technique when fightning without a shield is to catch the opponents sword with the guard then grab his elbow with my free hand while using his momentum to control his body and then move around him to cut him from behind. There are several more techniques like that which are effective during combat. The sword fighting in KCD seems very “clean” in my opinion.

1 Like

Thanks for your feedback. Our combat needs to be more simple and less complex compared to real combat, as you need to control it in the game. But it is already really complex and for some players too complex. Other players like your would like to have an even more complex combat. But we have to find the sweet spot here. :slight_smile:

1 Like

There are special moves. If you successfully make a combo you make a special move…
But in combat I´m not an expert. :smile:
Have you seen the Videoupdate 13? Take a look.

I agree. It’s too complex for me atm. LMB/RMB should be enough, otherwise the designers do it badly :wink:

Here is a video to illustrate what I am talking about:

Note that this is during a exhibition so the moves are kind of slow to show the audience different techniques. Even if the combatants are using heavy padding under the medieval clothing and the swords are blunt I can promise it DOES hurt.

@DrFusselpulli: Thank you for the restaurant suggestion btw . A reservation has been made at “Krčma u sedmi švábů”. :slight_smile:

2 Likes