Short Sword

I’m not an expert, so I don’t know. But it is correct to call one-handed sword a short sword?
It’s a bit confusing bacause it implies something that si shorter than standart sword and one-handed is standart sword.

I think one-handed sword should be called just sword.

a short sword is used in one hand.
a long sword is (mostly) used in two.

Bastard sword is an anachronistic name that got nothing to do with anything.

Bastard sword by one of many definitions has longer blade than short sword but shorter than long sword, but can be held by both hands. That is why they called him bastard.

I presume, that bastard sword was most frequently used in that time, so for me it is standard sword :slight_smile:

1 Like

I think that one-handed i standart sword because it is older than long sword. And one-handed sword is not really short.
I would call short sword something as long as gladius.

I’d prefer the term arming sword. Short sword makes me think roman gladii and such.

1 Like

you miss the point. Bastard sword is not a period name. something even your wikitxt also mention…

If you look at the language in the fenching manuals they are for short swords (onehanded use) or for longswords.(two handed use) or messers…

Calling a weapon for “bastard sword” is an anachronism that shouldn’t be in this ´game, if they are serious about make things historically.

The sword we in the game use with both hands should be called a longsword.

The typology we use today is modern and much of it would make no sense to the people back then.

2 Likes

OK, I understand you now, thanks for explanation.

What is your source of information on a two handed sword being called a longsword in the English language? If one does exist then I would be very interested in reading it.