When to split from the main storyline to free roam?

I am new to this game and still learning the way things work so please excuse the dumb question.

I know there is alot of time sensitive quests and various things you need to do early on (ex. Train in Rattay), assuming I wanted to start free roaming instead of continuing the main story line at whatpoint would you recommend doing that?

I am currently at the mission where you first join the Rattay gaurd. I have got my a** kicked by that one guy and now I am in the middle of the first patrol, I just want to put the main quest on hold for a bit so I can free roam and figure out the mechanics and get some experience before pushing on in the main quest. Any tips/help is much appreciated.

Follow the main line till the quest, where you go to investigate burned farm Neuhof. After this quest you won’t be so pushed to continue in the main line, and also you will have a horse.
It’s the best time to start exploring and do some side quests.

1 Like

Thank you, that is a big help. :+1:

No problem, just ask if you’II want something else.

1 Like

There’s gonna be this investigation in near future (5 hours later) event where I got lost looking for clues and I roamed and continued it many hours later. I’d suggest doing so as well. You’ll know the time. Even as you’re doing the guard patrol. You should roam after you finish it. Or you can have hard start now and some 20-30 hours in start roaming because mid game there is gonna be another event you’d better have some horse and equipment with skills. By the way, by roaming I mean doing side quests and following the safe paths, otherwise you can easily get ambushed or lost in the enemy camp and you want to have horse for retreat. First time I got lost without horse and didn’t save for a long time, I literally fought for life because I didn’t want to replay 10 hours… So yeah, be careful roaming around.

2 Likes