Anyone else actually practice Historical European Martial Arts?

I’ve been doing Historical European Martial Arts now for about 5 years, everything is under the Liechtenauer styles.

I practice both Blossfechten (unarmoured fighting) and Harnischfechten (fighting in armour) as well as a poor attempt to joust in the 15th century style (still don’t have my own horse so it is difficult to practice).

5 Likes

I practiced HEMA during 1 year, Liechtenauer. Now I practice Buhurt, I belongs to a french team, and soon, I hope, to the french national team. Will see in 10 days lol.

I am also doing HEMA (maily Lichtenauer) since 3 years. I also tried I.33 once and maybe I will try it again.
I am not sure, if you are interested, but there will be a tournament this year from artsofmars in Germany/Hanover called
WWOC Arts of Mars (just google it, should be the second entry).
They will have fights in several weapon categories:
Longsword: Steel fechtfeder
Woman’s Longsword: Steel fechtfeder
Longsword: Nylon
Rapier: with dagger, buckler, cloak: Steel
Dusack: Leather.
Sword and Buckler: Steel fechtfeder or nylon
Sabre or Backsword [undecided]: Steel or nylon
Spear: Foam padded wood or such.
Dagger: Wood or steel blunt
Team Longsword: Nylon or steel
+additional workshops

hey there folks … I prefer two handed or one and half hand swords haha :smiley: but I just getting to old for this (almost 40 now) … just love it!!!

Sort of. Have not joined ARMA or the like or even have a sparring partner, just like dry fencing for the cardio and I have a keen interest in fight books for their historical significance. The books came first, then the fencing. It is very interesting to experience how the techniques worked, really worked. Your average fechtbuch on its own - as anyone who ever read one knows - is at best a vague depiction in one two dimensions. Read Vikings sagas with similar pleasure.